University of Cape Town UCT Department of Surgery

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Courses

University of Cape Town UCT Department of Surgery

University of Cape Town UCT Department of Surgery

University of Cape Town UCT Department of Surgery – see details below:

The Department of Surgery at the University of Cape Town forms part of the School of Adult Clinical Medicine in the University’s Faculty of Health Sciences.

The Department of Surgery is made up of the following divisions:

  • General Surgery
  • Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Neurosurgery
  • Ophthalmology
  • Paediatric Surgery
  • Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Otorhinolaryngology
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Urology

The Department of Surgery prides itself on providing an outstanding clinical service, excellent teaching to both undergraduate and postgraduate students, and world-class research.

Areas of Study

The Department of Surgery is committed to maintaining high standards of teaching. It has had had three recipients of the prestigious University Distinguished Teacher Award, Professors Edward Immelman, Jake Krige and Anwar Mall.

Undergraduate studies

Each of the department\’s divisions is involved in the undergraduate teaching programme. The department is actively involved in the new curriculum and is committed to the philosophy of problem-based learning.

Postgraduate studies

See also  Maluti TVET College Harrismith Campus Courses Offered

Each division has its own MMed programme. Registrars write the College of Medicine examinations and are encouraged to produce a dissertation for the university MMed degree. The success rates in the various College examinations are high.


The Department of Surgery is committed to surgical research. Each division boasts its own research programmes, mostly involving clinical research. However, both Cardiothoracic Surgery and General Surgery have active laboratory-based research programmes.

The annual Department of Surgery Research Day is usually held in November and has been a great success, with active participation from all the divisions. The highlight of the day is the invited speaker at the John Terblanche Lecture.

Previous lecturers have included Professors Peter Zilla, Tony Murray, Jonathon Peter, David Dent and Heinz Rode.