Details on ORBIT TVET College Application 2023–2024

Details on ORBIT TVET College Application 2023–2024


The Department of Higher Education and Training was formally established by law in terms of the Presidential Minute No 690 of 6 July 2009 and under Proclamation No 44 of 1 July 2009, the concurrent functions under the TVET Colleges Act, 2008 were transferred to the Minister of Higher Education and Training.

The Department of Higher Education & Training (DHET) comprises Public TVET Colleges, public Universities, National Institutes for Higher Education, Trade Testing Centres, Skills Development Institutes and SETAs

The mandate of the 50 public TVET Colleges is to steadily increase the number of students enrolled and trained in priority and critical skills areas, putting TVET Colleges at the centre of the skills development agenda of South Africa.

This relates to equipping the unemployed, (specifically youth who is Not in Education, not in Employment and Training i.e. NEETs) with the requisite skills base to overcome poverty and the dilemma of unemployment.

See also  Careers at CTI Education Group 2023–2024

The specific focus of public TVET Colleges is to address the skills shortages in SA, by offering relevant and responsive vocational and occupational programmes.

Vocational Programmes are quality assured by Umalusi and Occupational Programmes are quality assured by the relevant SETAs until the QCTO takes over this function


• ORBIT College is one of 3 public TVET Colleges in the North West Province

• ORBIT TVET College is ISO 9001:2008  (SABS) accredited

• Total headcounts (all included) was 15012 for 2015

• The College has a Central Office in Rustenburg with 3 learning delivery sites

 – Rustenburg Campus

 – Brits Campus

 – Mankwe Campus

 Each Campus remains unique in the sense that it serves the community in which it is situated.  A broad spectrum of programmes is offered at

 the 3 campuses to suit the different needs within the diverse communities.