University of Cape Town UCT Faculty of Science

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Courses

University of Cape Town UCT Faculty of Science

University of Cape Town UCT Faculty of Science – see details below:

The Faculty of Science is home to approximately 2 600 students, of which some 36% are postgraduate research students registered in the 12 academic departments – Archaeology, Astronomy, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental & Geographical Science, Geological Sciences, Mathematics & Applied Mathematics, Molecular & Cell Biology, Oceanography, Physics and Statistical Sciences. All departments are located on Upper Campus. There are about 185 academic staff and some 160 support staff who provide for our undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Undergraduate teaching is a cornerstone of our activities and the Faculty offers 20 different majors, with possibilities to co-major in subjects located in other Faculties. Our majors are loosely organised into three clusters – those in the biology, earth and environmental sciences, those in the chemical and molecular sciences, and those in the numerical and physical sciences. Details of the majors we offer and their home departments can be found here. Our Bachelor of Science degree leads naturally on to a number of different Honours degrees that relate to the undergraduate major(s) offered by the various departments. Details of Honours degrees offered can be found here.

See also  University of South Africa Unisa Department of Taxation

The Faculty of Science prides itself on the high regard in which it is held by the international academic community, reflected in part by international world university and subject rankings. According to the latest QS rankings, the Science Faculty at UCT places in the band 51-100 top universities in the Earth and Marine Sciences and in the band 101-150 in the Biological and Environmental Sciences. In part, the national and international prominence of our staff is captured in the high number of researchers rated by the National Research Foundation (NRF) system as having leading or prominent international standing (18 A-rated, 64 B-rated, 60 C-rated and 7 P-rated). Much of this international recognition comes from the strong research programmes run by our Faculty staff, in collaboration with international colleagues, the rigorous doctoral programmes offered by the Faculty, and through the resultant research output. Research emanating from the Faculty is published by a mixture of 185 permanent academic staff, over 80 Honorary Research Associates, ~400 doctoral students, ~140 postdoctoral fellows, 14 South African Research Chairs, 14 Senior Scholars, and international collaborators from across the world. An important component of our research takes place through 16 formal university accredited intra- and inter-disciplinary research groupings, and an NRF Centre of Excellence, details of which can be found here.

University of Cape Town UCT Faculty of Science Departments

See also  Tshwane North TVET College Trimester Courses Offered

UCT Faculty of Science Courses Offered

UCT Faculty of Science Admission Requirements

University of Cape Town UCT Faculty of Science Application

UCT Faculty of Science Registration

University of Cape Town UCT Faculty of Science Contacts